The Practice


proyectos / Transportation / VALLADOLID AIRPORT EXTENSION

Valladolid Airport Extension

Through an analysis of the actual building, we found the principles for the new architectural design: the split between content and envelope, the use of modules, and the structural umbrella.

The terminal building’s extension towards east and west is resolved with a double-height roof located above the public lobbies of the landside facade. The roof configuration is clearly separated from the interior sections, maintaining the possibility of changing the interior layout. The roof outline is repetitive, based on the existing structural module and 10.80 x 10.80 meters in size. This structural unit forms a double-height space with a constant width of 22.5 meters, which makes it possible to add modules in order to expand the overall length.

It provides a global perception of the building, where the original image of the Terminal is renewed without losing its character. The dialogue established with the existing building takes into account the former building’s solutions, but not through imitation. It goes a step further in the same direction, enriching the whole.

The proposal aims to leave the view of the main structure without any false ceilings. The tree structure, in addition to multiplying its "branches" to reduce structural light, provides a framework that integrates the facilities, partially hiding them, but still accessible for possible inspections without a false ceiling.

In the central area, where passengers are welcomed, the original structure has been kept. It works not only as an inner canopy, but also emphasizing the check-in area. The building’s former facades are extended following the same line, wrapping the whole project with a visual continuity.

Double-height covered-in public halls


Place/Date: Valladolid, 2009
Client: AENA
Budget: Confidential
Surface: 14.039 m²
Arquitects: luis vidal + architects / Sener
Contributors: Sener Ingeniería
Project Status: Tender
Team: Sonia Ferreras - David López - Irene Méndez - Héctor Orden - Gentaro Shimada - Óscar Torrejón - Marcos Velasco - Luis Vidal