The Practice



Can Misses Hospital and Heathcare Centre, Ibiza

Designed by luis vidal + arquitectos in JV with Arup Engineering, D-fine for Bill of Quantities y CSP for Health & Safety.

The Health Service commission is to refurbish and to extend the existing public Hospital into a new Healthcare Complex tripling the sanitary surface and taking advantage of the change to transform the way the staff works, thus achieving a highly efficient hospital. The construction and funding of this project is made through a concession scheme in which health services have public management and non-health services, private management. 

The design was conceived in order to mimic Ibiza’s local architecture by using a fragmented construction introducing white as the predominant color; thereby, despite being the largest building on the island it is still an integrated part of the surroundings. The building extension doubles the existing surface area, housing all healthcare services, whilst the existing building is refurbished to house supplies and logistics facilities, freeing up a large area for future expansion and/or other uses.

The project restructures patient, family and medical flows, and connections between services, thereby improving the users’ privacy and the connectivity between facilities. It is a modular Hospital which is efficient user-friendly and allows for future growth.

Designed following sustainability guidelines, passive and active measures have been implemented from the initial stages for energy efficiency and to minimize environmental impact, such as the construction of the “hospital garden”, sunlight control or the creation of a cogeneration center.

A high efficiency Hospital of PPPs


European Property Award 2015


Place/Date: Ibiza, 2008-2014
Client: IB Salut, Balearic Health Service
Budget: 73,6 M €
Surface: 67.132 m² (46.405 m2 hospital +1.991 m2 reform + 18.736 m2 car park)
Arquitects: luis vidal + architects
Contributors: D-fine
Project Status: Built
Team: María Astiaso - David Ávila - Marta Cumellas - Isabel Gil - Carolina Hernández - Jugatx López Amurrio - Héctor Orden - Francisco Rojo - Francisco Sanjuan - Oscar Torrejón - Luis Vidal - Begoña de Andrés - Almudena de Benito - Oscar Ignacio Encabo - David Fernandez Llompart - Cristina Galván - Magdalena García de durango - Jaime Gimeno - Itziar Lamy - Patricia Lozano - Paloma Martín - Javier Palacios - Martina Rauhut - Arturo Romero - Adriana Sobrini - Pablo Vila Ramiro